End of week #2

Friday started out with a personal yoga class from Mrs. Dabak’s cousin, a discussion with Mrs. Dabak about religion over some chai, and a beautiful view of the city in the finally cool temperature of the early morning. Ahhh…. So nice!

I’ll save you from me going into too much detail about today, but I wanted to tell you a few of the highlights.

At the clinic one of the first patients we saw was a boy about 8 years old who immediately sat down, turned to me, and began saying something extremely passionately in Marathi. All I could really understand was “injections nahee” (no injections)! For the rest, I just nodded and smiled. He didn’t seem to care that I wasn’t saying anything, and when the doctor entered the room he just turned to him and kept on going. Luckily he wasn’t due for any vaccinations so he left happy, and said something to me with a smile on the way out, but I, yet again, had no idea what it was and simply waved goodbye πŸ™‚

The clinic was, again, a lot of fun, and I was glad to be working with the kids. One of the parents knew English and started asking about what I was doing in India. I explained that I was completing a rotation for school here because I am interested in learning about pediatric care in India. I asked if many foreign students from America come and practice here and he said that he’d never seen one in Pune. They mainly come from the middle eastern countries or Korea, according to him. That would explain why I’ve gotten so many curious stares.

After the clinic Manisha started mabundi (henna) on my arm to prepare for the wedding on Tuesday. Don’t worry mom, it’s not mine πŸ˜‰ Manisha’s cousin is getting married and they invited me to come!! Woot woot! Check out the pics of her artwork in the picture gallery. It’s incredible.

On Saturday morning Dada and I headed out early to climb to one of the ancient forts outside of Pune. It felt great to do some hiking, though Dada made sure that it was no easy stroll. We practically ran through the first part, boulder up some “short cuts” in the second, and I practically crawled up the last part. The views from the top were amazing though… Well worth the trek.

That’s all for now! Hope you all are well. Miss you tons.

4 thoughts on “End of week #2

  1. Merrrr!!!! Hello!!!! I have you in my mind all the time!!! Hehehe… aww so amazing funny stories… also challenging experiences… I am so glad God has given you this opportunity and you said Yes!! This experience is going to shape your life and how you see things from now on.. I am curious about the Chai break !! πŸ˜€ Im all down for a break and a nice cup of anything… heheh… I went with my preceptor this past Wed to an Indian restaurant… I was so proud of you and was telling him about your journey. The restaurant is buffet style…. the quality is AMAZING… and is not too spicy.. I think you would love it… I cant wait to have you back in the states… Its time… πŸ˜€ I miss you too much!!
    Your writings are great!! Thanks for sharing it and being so honest…. I saw you got a tatoo!!! : D Would it still be on for graduation? Have to tell you since YESTERDAY the weather in Columbus finally is warming up…. to the 65F …. We all are ready for the beauty of the spring that is finally here its been hard…

    Today I woke up with the song “Gives us your courage”… Only time I recall hearing it was on the GMHC in Louisville KY Oct 2012 w you… Music was very stregthening for me when I had hard times in the mission field…. just wanted to share it with you… I am attaching you the link,..

    I’m not backing down
    I will stand my ground
    Lifting high the name of Jesus
    Holding out Your light
    To a world in need
    Living out the love of Jesus

    And though the battles rage
    Your blessing still will come

    To the ends of the earth we will go
    To the ends of the earth we will go
    Fill us with power
    Fill us with power
    For the truth of Your Word we will stand
    For the truth of Your Word we will stand
    Give us Your courage
    Give us Your courage

    Be our strength and song
    Till the battles won
    Cause Your face to shine upon us
    Stretch Your hand to save
    Our God never fails
    Nothing is impossible for You

    And though the battles rage
    Your blessing still will come

    To the ends of the earth we will go
    To the ends of the earth we will go
    Fill us with power
    Fill us with power
    For the truth of Your Word we will stand
    For the truth of Your Word we will stand
    Give us Your courage
    Give us Your courage

    Would You breathe on us
    Would You breathe on us
    Would You breathe on us
    Would You breathe on us

  2. Wonderful post! I love the temporary tatoo-I hope. Please send a bunch of photos of the wedding, I’m sure it will be beautiful. Remember the one we saw in Athens? Love dad

    • I posted some of the pics dad, but I have plenty more to share. I definitely remember the wedding we saw in Athens. The groom rode in on a fancy white horse here too!!

Leave a Reply

