Ready for the final week!

Sooooo… Last week was a little rough, but I’m ready now to head into week numero 4. A few things at the end of the week gave me some renewed strength with one of them being the kids at the guest house.
When I came home last week from the rural area with heat exhaustion the first face that greeted me was Ashush who is Dada’s 12 year old nephew. He held up a badminton racket encouraging me to play with him. I apologized and promised to play later as I headed into my room to douse myself in cold water.
On Friday when I came home from the clinic I finally was able to go out and try my hand at a little badminton. It was so refreshing just to goof around with Ashush and the rest of the 7 kids staying with us. Chookulee of course was running around in the middle of it all with her contagious smile and high pitch Marathi/enlgish ramblings.
After we had our fill of badminton we headed into the house where we watched some cartoons in the bedroom/living room/dining room with Manisha’s sister and brother-in-law. Ashush at one point asked, “You english?” and pointed to the T.V. I understood that he was asking if I wanted him to change the translation on the t.v.to english and I excitedly said, “Yes!” For a whole 10 glorious minutes, before the other kids changed the language back to Marathi, I was glued to the cheesey Indian cartoon show like a 5 year old watching Saturday morning cartoons.
Over the weekend I took some time to rest and recover. This was much needed as my enthusiasm had begun to wain at the end of the week in the heat and chaos that seemed to penetrate all senses at all times. Some of highlights from the weekend were doing a little more touring around Pune, FaceTiming with my parents, and visiting with the Patel family. I enjoyed having some discussions about life, education, and religion with Ravi Patel, sharing a few A-MAZING meals with the family, and watching a cricket match. They have made me feel like part of their family.

I start at a new pediatrics clinic tomorrow, so I will let you know about the new things I learn there. ย If you have any questions send them my way ๐Ÿ™‚ Take care!

3 thoughts on “Ready for the final week!

  1. Mere, it has been a real treat reading about all of your experiences and looking at your amazing pictures. I particularly liked the picture of your tattoo! I told Caleb we needed to get him one just like it! It sounds like this rotation has been amazing and trying all at once and I can’t wait to see you in person to hear about all of the stories you have. Jenny, Caleb and I are so proud of you and love you very much!

  2. Hi Mere so glad you had time to rest and recuperate, that heat sounds like quite the challenge! Your pictures are beautiful and experiences so interesting. Enjoy your week there, can’t wait to see you! Love, Aunt Sue

  3. MEREDITH!!! You are on the home stretch…that’s shocking. It’s also shocking that we were in your home in NM yesterday!!! I know you’re making the most of the time you have left. We can’t wait for you to be back I’m Ohio, another one of your homes๐Ÿ˜ƒ. Our time with your folks was fabulous and in less than 2 weeks you will be celebrating with them. I’m not sure how you’re gonna get that camel in your backpack but you’re a clever girl…๐Ÿ˜‰๐Ÿช. Prayin up your Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

